Enter the Age of Networked Intelligence.

Clevedon Road, Muizenberg. 

When I lived in Clevedon Road, Muizenberg, I walked past this everyday on my way work. I was conflicted at the time – my intuition was telling me to start a career in advertising, yet the world around me was shattered and I saw advertising at the very heart of the fragmented society I was living in.

Luckily, we have finally become immune to traditional advertising. We are no longer the puppets of mass media. The digital world has already merged with the physical world. We are the Internet. We are it. We are the storytellers. We decide which brands live, and which brands die. We are the brands. We are the Indigo children. We are the economy. We are the government. We are nature. We are the society. We are the instigators. We are the media.

Of course, our work does not start and end with the Internet.

We are also acutely aware of how every single time we leave our front door that we’re creating the world we live in. We know that every single breath is an opportunity to elevate our consciousness, and the consciousness of those around us.

We have created a world in which we communicate online and in the “real world” simultaneously. The lines between “the real world” and the digital world have merged.

Never before in our history have we had so much power to affect change. Never before have we been able to mobilize, connect and collaborate with so many tribes around the globe. Never before have we had immediate access to so much information. Never before have we had the ability to connect with the entire world simultaneously.

I am forever indebted to the artist who made this. Your message eventually hit home.

I am indebted to the planet and everyone who has been a part of my journey. I have a responsibility to use my creativity and the media to its full potential.

I am enormously privileged to be in the position that I’m in. I’m busy finishing off my portfolio at The Red and Yellow School of Advertising. I feel honoured to have worked with some of the brightest minds in the country and to have made friends who have the same goal in mind: To harness the power of the media and use it to change the world.

I have yet to meet the artist who created this. I hope you’re out there, right now, reading this. You were right. I AM the media. YOU are the media. WE are the media.

Leave a Reply

